#DailyDemocracyTask – Approve Redistricting Transparency

#DailyDemocracyTask – Approve Redistricting Transparency

“We need urgent action to make sure SHB 2575 gets a hearing and a vote!”

As of last Friday, SHB 2575 is sitting in the House Appropriation Committee and it must be voted out by Tuesday, February 11.  Email Representative Ybarra on the Appropriation Committee today and ask him to vote for modernizing Washington’s redistricting process!

Continue reading

Special Election

Special Election

[Ellensburg] – Voting in the February Special Election starts January 24 and ends at 8pm on February 11. School levies from multiple districts and a City of Roslyn bond request are now in the voters’ hands.

View our Voter’s Guide on this election here.

Ballots have already been mailed to voters in the Cle Elum/Roslyn School District, Damman School District, Kittitas School District, Naches School District, and City of Roslyn.

It Matters!

Watch our candidate forums on ECTV – Oct. 22 and 24

Ellensburg City Council

Candidates for seat 6, Matt Anderson and Stacey Bankston Engel; and seat 7, Kristin Ashley and Tristen Lamb.

ECTV link Ellensburg City Council

Hospital District

Candidates for position 1, Liahna Armstrong and Terry Clark; and position 4, Roy Savoian and Jon Ward.

ECTV link Hospital District

Ellensburg School Board

Candidate for position 1, Meg Ludlum, and statement from Mark Manning, who withdrew his candidacy.

ECTV link School Board

Kittitas County Commissioner

Candidates for District 1, Nancy Lillquist and Cory Wright.

ECTV link County Commissioner

Legislative District 13

Candidates for Legislative District 13, Steve Verhey and Alex Ybarra.

ECTV link LD 13

Many thanks to Ellensburg Public Library, our co-sponsor, to Jon Ward at ECTV, for his work on the video, and to Charli Sorenson, our moderator. Thanks also to our League volunteers, and to Rob Fraser, for the photography. Watch Facebook for the photo album, coming soon.

Watch our candidate forums on YouTube: Oct. 15 – 16

LWV Kittitas County on Tuesday, Oct. 15 held a candidate forum for County Commissioner, District 1, and Roslyn City Council, seats 1, 4, and 6.

Watch the county commissioner forum here. Candidates are Nancy Lillquist and Cory Wright. Moderator is Charli Sorenson.

Following the commissioner candidates were candidates for Roslyn City Council. Candidates who attended were Jim Guerci, Jennifer BasterrecheaAtela, Cathy Cook, Tom Missel, and Doug Kilgore. Moderator was Charli Sorenson. Watch the Roslyn City Council forum here.

On Wednesday, Oct. 16, League held a second candidate forum for Roslyn Mayor, Water District 7, and Fire District 7. Charli Sorenson moderated this forum.

Candidates for Roslyn Mayor are Brent Hals (incumbent) and Doug Johnson; watch the video here. Candidates for Water District 7 are Mike Budschat and Roger Swansen; see video here.

Watch the Fire District 7 video here. Candidates are Russ Hobbs and Robert Cernick.

Coming soon: pictures of Oct. 15 and 16 forums.

Local Elections Are Serious, Too

Democracy Depends on You

Local governments manage many different services, and decisions made at the local level will directly affect your life. In fact, local governments can impact nearly every aspect of your life – so who is elected, what decisions are made, and how services will be delivered should matter to you. Your vote is your voice in these arenas.

Continue reading
%d bloggers like this: